Back to the grind (already!?)

Hey everyone, Klassic here with a quick status update.

We truly finished working on Bun-Dun on Sunday night (bugs to fix, etcetera etcetera) and after a day of sitting around bored out of my mind, I’ve decided to head back to Forksplosion (remember that? yeah? yeah? no?). We had plans to start working on the game again, but I think most of my team -cough everyone cough- had expected a week of rest of something.

Nope. Hear that guys? Back to work. Muahahaha.

But seriously, I couldn’t stand sitting around. Now that we’ve actually finished a game, I’m hooked on the process. Don’t ask me why, don’t ask me how, but I am perfectly happy spending 8 or more hours typing lines of code. What’s wrong with me?

Anyways, I may or may not write a dev. diary on Forksplosion this week, depending on whether or not I have anything worthwhile to say. Today, I optimized bullet paths and made them a lot more flexible (They were a bit stiff before, now they’re satisfactory ((could be better)) ). Holy crap, did I just put brackets inside brackets? I think I did.

Because this is a different kind of game from (than? grammar!!) Bun-Dun, we’ll probably post up a demo of the engine/early stages sooner or later. Right now, the basic engine is basically done. The brute of the work lies in creating the levels and… -shudders-… bosses (Worthington’s Note: Don’t forget those damn cutscenes Tangleworm and I have to do). God damn you, bullet patterns. You’ll be the death of me yet. Why, you ask? Because of this:

global.ebuldirec=point_direction(x,y,obj_player.x,obj_player.y)

global.ebulspd=1.5

instance_create(x,y,obj_enemybullet1)

global.ebuldirec=point_direction(x,y,obj_player.x,obj_player.y)

global.ebulspd=2

instance_create(x,y,obj_enemybullet1)

global.ebuldirec=point_direction(x,y,obj_player.x,obj_player.y)

global.ebulspd=2.5

instance_create(x,y,obj_enemybullet1)

global.ebuldirec=choose(265,270,275)

global.ebulspd=choose(1.5,2,2.5)

instance_create(x,y,obj_enemybullet1)

global.ebuldirec=choose(250,290)

global.ebulspd=choose(1.5,2,2.5)

instance_create(x,y,obj_enemybullet1)

global.ebuldirec=choose(245,295)

global.ebulspd=choose(1.5,2,2.5)

instance_create(x,y,obj_enemybullet1)

…And that’s for one enemy. It’s a lot less confusing than it looks, trust me. If you’re the type of dirty, no good scum bag that likes to steal code, I’d be honoured to be your victim. Sufficiently confused yet?

Until whenever,

Klassic.

Leave a Reply

