Game Design Expo!

What’s up everyone!

Worthington and I attended GDE (Game Design Expo) in Vancouver this weekend and had a blast meeting people. There were some fantastic presentations (and one less than fantastic presentation) about a spectrum of things, ranging from storytelling to level design to how to work under restraints set by a publisher. There was a lot of information to take in and, to be completely honest, after 8 or so hours of sitting in a chair listening to people talk my brain started to break down a little.

We were considering staying for the reception after the indie panel (great panel, by the way. Four serious, earnest indies and then Chevy Ray, who I get the feeling was the centre of attention for most of that panel) but to be honest, we were just too damn tired. Someone let me know how it went, I’d love to hear.

We actually took some notes on a couple of the more informative speakers and I’m feeling refreshed and ready to jump back into Ascension now that finals week has finally ended. If things go the way I’m hoping, we’ll get some good work done on Ascension this week before school starts again. We’re about halfway done the barebones development of the game; after that comes the story and atmosphere. I’m really looking forward to that, call me a sadist if you want.

There’s not a whole lot for me to show off right now, most of what I’m working on is behind the scenes technical stuff. One thing I’m particularly satisfied with is the lift sequence in the storage room. It’s not finished or polished yet, but the basics are in place and I figure I might as well show it off to you all.

 

I’m not going to explain what’s going on in the photo because it’s part of a puzzle (“puzzle”), but to put it simply the lift goes up and down a short distance. It’s not an elevator, but rest assured; we have that too.

Right now I’m working on the cold storage zone (zone 3 of 5) and making everything look very cold. We’ve got some great ideas lined up for the second half of the game, and I’m looking forward to showcasing them.

 

See you soon!

Klassic

Leave a Reply

