A New Challenge Approaches!

Hi folks! I’m Jamie Bell, the new team member mentioned earlier working on the audio for Overclocked. I’ve been hard at work getting good at the game in order to know what I can do to make it feel awesome to play. Check my intro post on the devlog to read more about that and a bit about myself.

Some cool progress last night!

Each level has two badges that you must unlock to get 100% completion. Only the first badge is necessary to beat the level and continue the story, but the second is an extra challenge. The simplest are “Complete the level in 35 seconds” or “Get a score of 6000 points,” but we’ve been doing some brainstorming to find what other cool second badges we can throw at you.

Badges

Please ignore the fact that I accidentally died to take this screenshot! 🙂

This is a new level which includes the first of the “Don’t defeat any enemies” badges. It’s a tough one because the enemies are usually conveniently close to a laser, and your air dash kills enemies so you’ve got to use them carefully. Here’s how I get around this first one when trying to get the no-kill badge:

Bounce off

Bet that purple guy feels like a dolt!

When I showed this GIF to Chris, he was stoked about how different our approaches are. Of the three of us working on the game, we each have a totally different way of approaching this no-kill badge, and I’m excited to see how people get creative with these challenges.

Speaking of getting creative, check out this usage of a punch to eke my way past a laser in the next part of this level. This felt so flippin’ cool to do:

Agile!

I ABSOLUTELY MEANT TO DO THIS, I SWEAR.

Back to the lab to think of some more cool badges! Until next time, when I’ll probably be doing an audio-centric post!

Jamie

Leave a Reply

